Bravery Defined Through My Writing

What is your definition of bravery?
Bravery is defined through my love of words

What is your definition of bravery?

How do you define the word bravery? Is it the ability to be fearless in the pursuit of honing your writing skills, or does it go deeper than that? Do you have the courage to write your dreams out and sufficient fortitude to show those words to another person? To risk the very real possibility that those treasured words might not be felt as deeply or even understood correctly by another? Maybe that’s just me.

Writing for the enjoyment of myself rather than for an audience requires no real bravery on my part. Nada.  Inspiration in writing is forever springing forth grabbing me by the neck and demanding I take note.

It’s safe and it’s comfortable and it’s one of my most  solitary and private of pleasures. Oh but to have to show that same safe and fun writing effort off to an audience, now that’s when things get hairy.

On the occasion I do open myself up, invite in the opinions and thoughts of others, the mental image of my having to stand naked out in public always seems to surface within my mind.

It’s not a great mental pic and it all goes downhill from that point.

The idea of having each and every one of my flaws, be they physical or written, on public display for all of the world to view is daunting to say the least. Because that image is unfailingly accompanied by the evil twins. Those are the two thoughts that start the stressing out wheels to turn.

“What if they hate it?” and “What if they laugh?”

And if I do manage to banish them, I still have to the evil stepmother and ruler over activities requiring courage on my part and is obligated to drain the courage out to deal with.

She owns the patent to “What if I’m just not good enough to make the cut?” and the one who does the most damage, that witch.

To me, bravery is…

My bravery comes in the form of my willingness to pry open a window and allow others to glimpse a piece of my soul for a short period while hoping I’ll emerge from the experience relatively unscathed.

I’ve done this more lately than I ever thought possible from within my world of odd, being ADHD, being different, and not like the rest of the crowd. I’ve done it yes, but haven’t experienced it without suffering a flesh wound of some sort or another. I still count it as a small victory-for me.

Bravery isn’t giving up despite the opposition even when you get discouraged.

I tend to do what pleases me until it doesn’t. I feel life is way too short to do otherwise. And that applies to everything but writing. Writing pleases me in ways I can’t explain. It also drives me nuts and it makes me think serious thoughts about chucking the laptop through the nearest window on more days than not, but I haven’t quit.

It must be true love. Because I’m going to get what’s inside my head out and on to the page if it’s the last thing I do.

When the words on the screen mean something, define something, recall an experience or  writing the tale that woke me and made me get out of bed at 3am.

The one begging to be told is so important to me that I ask for others to critique it, hoping that others can find the same intrinsic value in the piece as I do, yeah that’s bravery.

What is your definition of bravery in writing?

 

26 thoughts on “Bravery Defined Through My Writing”

  1. Thank you for a thought provoking post. As a relatively new writer, bravery is a topic I haven’t examined in detail as concerns my own writing, but now I intend to.
    –Joan

    1. Hi Joan

      I’m so glad you liked the post 🙂

      Bravery is so hard to define really. I struggle with it almost as much
      as I struggle with finding the right words to express whatever it is inside my head,
      demanding I express it LOL

  2. What is your definition of bravery in writing? Opening myself up to let a little bit of me at a time. I’m not brave enough to stand naked to the world, but little by little, some of me is coming out. I will have to think more on my definition of bravery in writing.

    1. Great point you made! Maybe I’m off on my own definition.
      What if bravery in writing were more like a burlesque show ?
      Stay with me here, I might not get the message across LOL

      For instance instead of standing out there in all of my less than CoverGirl glory,
      it’s meant to be more of a tease, just a glimpse of what might lie beneath?
      No offense whatsoever was intended, I’ll just state that now-in case I did.
      Some people might find the idea of a burlesque show comparison a bit lacking.

      My point was-what if I’m doing bravery and writing all wrong?
      Oh thank you for this, I’m so glad you commented today~
      (even if I’ve confused you royally-it’s a natural talent of mine 😉
      Just know you are always welcome here 🙂

    2. No offense taken. I enjoyed reading your post and it made me think and question something that I had never thought about. 🙂

    3. Oh I’m so glad LOL
      Sometimes my thought and what appears on screen
      are two completely different things 🙂

  3. Really great piece. It really is a love/hate relationship, isn’t it? So happy Tipsy Lit could offer you some inspiration. Any time you’d like to do a guest post about writing, shoot us an email!

    1. I’m glad you liked it 🙂
      The writing submissions are most definitely
      a love/hate relationship LOL

      And thank you so much for the offer 🙂
      I’ll be sure to check with you soon.
      Tipsy Lit is a terrific blog, I’ve been enjoying reading it 🙂

    1. I do like your posts and enjoy your blog-quite a bit actually 🙂
      They gave me the inspiration for writing my latest post
      as well a twinge of envy for the success you’ve had!
      (it’s the nice envy not the mean kind lol)

      It’s a place I’ll be going to often
      and what was it like to live in the Bahamas?
      Wonderful, I imagine. I’d visit myself but that’s
      a plane ride and on my bucket list but…that’s a plane ride 😉

    2. The Bahamas is a very tropical place in the summer but is lovely in the autumn and winter. Thanks for the lovely comment and I love your blog as well. I always wonder how people have so many followers! I go by the rule that it doesn’t matter how many followers you have, as long as you treat the ones you do have well. As someone once told me ‘who can really judge success’! 🙂

    3. You are very welcome. 🙂
      And it’s quite true about success,
      though I tend to forget that when I shouldn’t.
      I’m one of the worst with regards to not seeing the big picture,
      but for what is, right at this moment 😉

      Followers will come, trust me on this. You’re doing what brings them in. 🙂
      Speaking as one who’s made every blogging mistake possible
      and a few not discovered until I made them, this one thing I do know LOL

      Thinking of the Bahamas in the winter…ahhh that would be nice LOL
      No more long johns, thermal pj’s under flannel ones, yeah-I’d enjoy it.
      And that’s the part where the plane image comes back to taunt me 😉

    4. LOL Thanks for the positive comments! I agree with you because, even though I only started my blog last year, I feel like I have done most of the mistakes as well. Hope you enjoy future posts on Spikes Books!

  4. For me, writing doesn’t take bravery, but sharing it does. Revealing the inner me always happens when I write, and sharing the inner me is a leap of faith every time.

    1. Heya Brenda and welcome to the adult pool LOL

      Yes! Leap of faith, you nailed it. 🙂
      When I write, my inner critic shuts up (slightly) and the story begging to be told floods out onto the screen (or paper) what appears is the unedited and the non-stammering or awkward appearing-me. I feel strong and super hero-ish but that all goes away the minute I show someone else. That’s me though. LOL

      Thank you so very much for adding your comment .
      Sorry for the over share-lol Time for Adderall 😉
      Please come back often, I promise not to inundate you next time. 🙂

    2. I like your flow of words, like a cooling river. It’s never a bad thing to be agreed with! Happy to come back again soon. 🙂

  5. I think the idea of bravery in writing undermines real bravery. But, of course, it depends on how honest you are if you’re writing about personal things. In my case, it’s spending a hell of a lot of time writing 2 books that, statistically speaking, will probably never see the light of day.

    1. Hey there, it’s the Funny Philosopher I like to read 🙂

      I apologize for being so late in replying.
      I’ve been enjoying your blog while I’m camped out inside my house of many holes LOL

      I love the responses I’ve been getting about bravery in writing.
      Seeing someone else’s viewpoints has been such a help to me.
      And you bring a rocking one to the table. 🙂

      One I plan to expound upon as soon as I’m assured
      that the power will stay on and my laptop won’t get zapped 😉

I love getting comments. It's as close to being famous as I'll ever get.

