A Visual Love Letter To A Non-ADHD Fluent Redneck

 

Showing you what I can't say right

To My Hardworking Redneck,

I know how frustrating it is for you, I do.

You’re always having to ask me for a translation

of what I just told you.

Or to slow down.

Or both.

While you may wonder if it’s really important, 

you’re positive that you don’t want to know,

because it usually ends

with your butt in a sling in one way or another. 

Yeah it sucks.

I know you're not thinking complimentary things right now

It wears me out too.

 

My ADHD always runs interference

in our relationship communications. 

Intercepting, gleefully twisting

what I mean and wreaking havoc with my words.

It ends with us snarling

 and you biding your nether cheeks farewell

 for what chaos may soon befall them. 

Maybe we should try something a bit different.

You’ve always said you were more of a visual guy, right?

 

Maybe visual will work better?

So…when I say:

“Holy moly, the place looks like we stepped in a dog turd, huh?”

I don't mean I hate your work

What I really mean is:

“I’m stunned at the amount of work you’re doing-by yourself.”

You rarely get my humor.

Instead you’re usually left…

You get mad and I understand

Which is understandable.

But then I’m left

I feel like this after we fightAre you with me so far? Good.

My articulation goes right out the window 

when it comes to you. And I hate that so much.

Communication with Adult ADHD sucks

The noise doesn’t help my mental processing either.

So when I say:

“How many ways are you trying to kill me leaving

the reciprocating saw on the floor like that?!”

You're doing this for us

What I mean is:

“Babe, I’d like very much to live to see this project complete

but you know how clumsy I get when things are moved

and floors are booby trapped. Little help please?”

Okay and maybe I’m jealous over your ability

to make things work

the first time around 

and without so much as a print to go by.

Am pretty sure you would be too.

watching a dream take shape

Look babe, you show your love to me every day.

And I see it. I do.

I can touch it. 

Damn sure have no problems hearing it.

But I can’t do the same for you.

So I hope by you reading this,

you’ll better understand what my pictures are saying

than I ever can seem to do.

So when I say:

“Take a break already, you make me look lazy!”

I love what you do

What I mean is:

“I’m worried for all the pressure you’re under, 

both at your normal job and here too.”

I worry for you because you silly redneck, I love you!

“I love you so much more than I can say.

Both myself and a Duck too.”

Duck loves you too

Oh yeah. And don’t kill me before our dream can come through.”

Because that would just be rude.

3 thoughts on “A Visual Love Letter To A Non-ADHD Fluent Redneck”

I love getting comments. It's as close to being famous as I'll ever get.

