Getting The Best Moment Blog Award

 

 

My best moment of last month came

when I was given The Best Moment Blog Award

 

Thank you Eric!

“Awarding the people who live in the moment,
The noble who write and capture the best in life,
The bold who reminded us what really mattered…
Savoring the experience of quality time.”

 

RULES:

  • Winners re-post rules and resource and link back to the award source with their acceptance speech. This could be written or video recorded.
  • Winners have the privilege of awarding the next awardees! The re-post should include a NEW set of people/blogs worthy of the award; and winners notify them of the great news.

 

RESOURCES:

  • What makes a good acceptance speech?
    • Gratitude – Thank the people who helped you along the way
    • Humor – Keep us entertained and smiling
    • Inspiration – Make your story touch our lives
  • Get an idea from the great acceptance speeches, compiled in MomentMatters.com/Speech
  • Display the award’s badge on your blog/website, downloadable in MomentMatters.com/Award

 

My nominees for Best Moment Blog are:

Parents Anonymous of New Jersey Online Group

5 minutes more please

Life Confusions

Bare Knuckle Writer

Wait til You Get a Load of This!

Mirth and Motivation

The Culture Monk

DonCharisma.org

Dimitris Melicertes

Friendly Fairy Tales

 

My (long-delayed) acceptance speech

 

I was given this blog award by Eric from The Hunt FOR Truth blog.

Thank you for this award, Eric. On the day it came, I was struggling. I’d been trying to decide whether to continue this blog or relegate it to the long list of Hobbies That Didn’t Make It. I’ll be honest. I was about to hit the export button and call it a day. I didn’t think I had anything all that relevant or even semi-interesting to say in this great big world of blogging. Not when I read so many other blogs, see the talent so clearly on display and wish a bit forlornly, that I had a smidge of it. Little fish/big pond scenario.

I’m an ADHD mom, you see. My world isn’t well-traveled nor is it full of exciting thrills, like…bungee jumping off tall buildings, that I can then pass on to my readers. Nope. Not me. My world consists of fighting a daily fight with a worn out laptop that wants to die and can’t (yet), homework battles with a recalcitrant Duck, figuring out how not to text my contacts at random on a new cell, grouching over my hyper-focus that caused me to run behind schedule for the fourth day in a row, wondering if I forgot the car key in the laundry-again. None of these things are new or different. They’re what we all go through every day. I thought that I sucked at blogging. That I sucked in general. And it went downhill from there.

The award came. And it stopped me from hitting export. I’m not sure where this blog is going to go or what may happen, but it’s here and I’m here and thankful. Because if I had given up on this blog and my writing about the world I live in, small and mundane as it may be, I know I would’ve regretted it every day. My biggest dream always has been to become a writer. From as early as I can remember all the way up til now, that dream has never left me. Thank you Eric. You not only made my day, but you gave me hope that maybe, just maybe, I might have something of value here for others to read. And that’s worth a whole bunch of smiles from me.

Sincerely,


 

 

69 thoughts on “Getting The Best Moment Blog Award”

  1. Congratulations on the win. I am glad to see that it came at such a pivotal point and has given you the incentive to continue writing .

    Keep up the great writing and you should always follow your dreams.

    1. Thank you for the nice compliment Forrest.
      I’m going to keep on keeping on. Who knows what will happen?
      Following my dream to write has proved harder than nailing jelly to a tree,
      but that just makes it worth doing 😉
      ~CeeLee

  2. Cee Lee, I think your blog is for you… whatever isn’t for you about it isn’t necessary. Since there is an audience, a part of each post is for us to have a chance to understand you.

    Someone I know that isn’t famous said: “The ego is a fiction of the darkness. It isn’t real. It is the story that the mind can get lost within. Its a poor defense that fragmented off from perceptions of knowledge. It is a thin darkness that obscures the spirit. You only listen to it because you think its real.”

    Your struggle is what we love about you — not that you suffer, but that you win. The essesnce of you is getting stronger and finer and braver and smarter and more loving and humbly prideful and spiritually more fit. Go at your own pace. Just keep it up a bit at a time.

    Thanks for being here.

    ~ Eric

    1. Thanks Eric. 🙂

      I like that quote-ego is a fiction of darkness. It fits and it rings true 🙂

      I wanted to edit that acceptance speech, I went back more than once to do it, but I couldn’t.
      I wanted that speech to be polished and smooth
      but I felt that it would’ve lost the emotion and importance behind it.

      I remember my fails much better than I remember my victories.
      That’s something I want to change. I know I’ve grown, have changed, and have learned.
      My blog reflects this, but it was you who helped me realize it. 🙂

      I’m going to stay around and enjoy my successes and laugh at my fails.
      It’s way safer than bungee jumping, cliff diving, or becoming a snake wrangler. 😉
      Hugs~CeeLee

    2. Its a tremendous victory bot for myself and for you and hundreds of other bloggers on wordpress that we have each other. While our posts vary widely, I know that here, the majority of bloggers that follow each others progress are here for the mutual service as much as for themselves.

      I’m fortunate to have the opportunities to read what you are posting.

      Its my great pleasure to be here and to have your blog to visit CeeLee.

      It is also safer that bugee jumping and cliff diving. 🙂

      You have a place here that is needed for others and for you. Enjoy yourself.

      Blessings.
      ~ Eric

    3. It is a victory on all sides.
      My sincerest thanks to Eric for helping me not to have to handle poisonous reptiles
      or bounce on the end of long bouncy…cords for my entertainment.

      My apologies to TruTV for losing a potential star
      for their World’s Most Shocking series.

      And all I got to say to that is…
      “Whew! That would’ve sucked righteously!” 😉
      ~CeeLee

  3. You will find your way. somehow. somewhere again.
    You doing fine givng us a smile and helping us understand the whirlwinds of ADHD

    So you deserved this. congrats CeeLee.
    keep on smiling and writing.

    1. Thank you Crow 🙂

      I will find my way again, you’re right.
      Maybe my having doubts was something I needed to learn to move forward.
      That’s how I choose to look at it anyway.
      I found my smile, now it’s time to find my groove. 😉

  4. Hey Cee Lee, First of all thank you for the nomination 🙂
    And now about the blog, I have been through what you are feeling, although for different reasons But the pressure is the same. Due to which I went into hiatus for quiet a while. I needed to sort myself out, more importantly needed a break. Now I’m back for good hopefully. Similarly if you want or need a break we would totally understand but don’t stop blogging completely, leave this portal for when ever you feel you are ready. Small breaks and hiatus are a part of this.
    I’m glad to know that you decided to stick here and keep inspiring us with your writing. We will always be here waiting 🙂

    Much Love, Zee 🙂

    1. Hi Zee!

      You are entirely welcome, I love reading your blog, I know others will too.
      It and you, deserved this award. And just like you said; we’ll be here for when you are:)

      Thank you so much for your comment and kind words.
      I’ve blown away by the outpouring of support from everone.
      I honestly never thought that what I wrote about was what would catch people’s attention.
      I can’t quit smiling (and getting all teary) I count both as wins 🙂
      CeeLee

    2. Well why not Cee Lee, words are powerful and specially with someone as talented as you its obviously bound to be heard and read. Give yourself some credit. You deserve it 🙂
      We are proud of you. Stay strong and happy.
      Thank you for the kindness ! 🙂

    3. I don’t know what to say except for thank you, Zee.
      It really means so much to me, reading this.

      I’m tempted to pull a “You like me, you really like me!” line
      but…lol I won’t. 😉
      ~CeeLee

    1. Oh my- I didn’t see that!
      The Lighthouse Award, right?

      I’m sure glad you let me know lol
      Thank you so much!
      It’s been an amazing award filled week 🙂

    1. You are most welcome Brenda
      I love your blog and visit as much as I can.
      It’s my daily escape into much more fun surroundings 🙂
      ~CeeLee

    1. Thank you for that Brenda. 🙂

      I never thought my voice being heard was possible.
      Not with the rest of the voices out there, all much clearer than my own.

      It’s nice to know that I am-
      (So okay, actually it’s spectacular, gratifying, astounding…lol)
      You get the point, I’m sure. 😉
      ~CeeLee

  5. Are you serious? I know that we’re our own worst critics and it’s easy to doubt ourselves and our abilities and our worth to others, but look at how many likes and comments you’re getting. That’s got to mean something! Well done on your blog 🙂

    1. Hi there
      Welcome to the Adult Pool and thank you for compliment. 🙂

      Yeah, we are our own worst critics.
      My inner editor is forever looking over my shoulder and muttering discouraging things.
      I just realized that it has the voice of a former english professor from my college years.
      That figures. I need to fire that editor first chance I get. LOL

      This week has been an eye opener for me. (mildest of understatements)
      I never even entertained the thought that what I write had anything of value to it.
      I do now.
      It makes me more determined to work on refining my dream and seeing it become reality. 🙂
      -CeeLee

    1. You are very welcome DC 🙂
      I enjoy seeing the photography you post.
      I admire your skill with a camera.
      Keep up the great work.
      ~CeeLee

    2. Your best is exactly why I like them, DC.

      I’m fairly certain I’m not the only one
      who can feel the heart that goes into capturing the images.
      It translates that very clearly to anyone who looks. 🙂
      ~CeeLee

    3. Very kind hun, had a lot of encouragement from people like suzjones here on wordpress. And I reckon there’s one or two who enjoy my photos too 🙂

      warm regards

      DC

    4. I’d reckon there are more than just a few folks, DC-
      who enjoy your blog and all therein,
      but that’s my opinion.

      CeeLee

    5. LOL, my attempts at humility aren’t working then obviously 🙂 … I just try and have fun, and be serious about producing good stuff, if other people like it it’s a really big bonus for me …

      Cheers

      DC

    6. Rest assured DC,

      Your humility does come through just fine. 🙂
      What didn’t come through was my attempt at humor.
      Answering comments on a smarter than I cell,
      and using voice dictation to do so…

      well…

      Let’s just say I chose…poorly 😉
      My apologies, I really wasn’t trying to be a jerk.
      CeeLee

    7. That’s no problem for me hun, you seem a nice person, and I’ve had to get pretty thick skinned on social media … I’m just happy to make new friends anytime, people who are polite and genuine, I have plenty of time for 🙂

      Hope you’re having a good saturday …

      Warm regards

      DC

    8. I’m glad DC 🙂

      Despite all my tech fails and snafus, I play nice.
      Responding to and leaving comments is still sort of new territory for me.

      I’ve always been shy and ADHD doesn’t help.
      I worry that I might use the wrong user-name
      or that my humor won’t translate well, whether cell assisted or not. 😉

      I’m harmless and like you, I enjoy making new friends.
      And I’m having a great Saturday, hope the same for you 🙂

    9. Thanks for explaining CeeLee, I was a bit like that in the beginning … I think it’s a good idea to pay attention as these comments get read in public, I have learnt to relax a bit, though … my friend shaun at prayingforoneday.wordpress.com taught me quite a lot early on and kind of mentored me a bit … he’s a pretty eclectic, funny and good hearted guy 🙂

      Generally most people are nice here, but like anywhere in life there are a-holes too … I’m enjoying a more or less a-hole free life on my blog through taking a dim view and low tolerance for things I don’t approve of … so good to have standards and stick to them …

      Personally I try and be friendly with people because one never knows who might be doing one a good turn next … A lot of people helped me on here, so I do my best to help as and when I can for others …

      Warm regards

      DC

    10. Thank you for understanding DC
      I probably should relax a bit,
      and that’ll come from my commenting more and learning what works and what doesn’t.
      It takes a lot of courage for me to drop a comment and I’m grinning
      as I type this because of the irony.
      I can post on my blog with no worries but…yeah.
      Kind of funny huh?

      Anyway, thank you for being so kind to a comment fumbling noob.
      It’s much appreciated. 🙂

    11. Taking my time to learn something fascinating to me
      is easier said than done with a I want it all right now! ADHD brain.
      But it’s worth going slow and learning the right way-the 1st time out. 🙂

    12. Agree, I think we’ve all a tendency toward not being patient, I don’t think it’s a flaw or a problem just something to be aware of 🙂

    13. .
      I’ve learned that blogging, (for me anyway) takes the patience of a saint. And I get schooled daily.
      But it’s worth every second, minute. or hour(s) I spend in frustration, when that post or a pic comes out the way I want 🙂

    14. In fun hun, at the end of the day, just enjoy the process … you will change and grow, bloggers who stay blogging all have done 🙂

    15. I certainly hope so.
      I went back to the beginning of this blog and had to grin. Seems I’ve grown more than I knew already.
      And I look forward to more. 🙂

    16. Helpful links are always welcomed here.
      You just went higher in my cool book lol
      and that’s a feat all in of itself. 🙂
      Thank you!

    17. I like what I’m seeing/reading right now.
      These are killer blogs. Lots of info on what I was needing.
      I’m glad you took the time to point them out to me. 🙂
      Hugs
      CeeLee

    18. Yeah me too DC. 🙂
      I got tired of the whole chase ’em down, tie ’em up,
      tell them to like me or else
      thing a long time ago.
      Mostly because it’s too much effort and doesn’t work.
      Well okay, that and running is reserved only for when Nerf guns and a Duck is involved.
      His aim is terrifying! LOL

    19. 🙂 the ones that like us, the one’s that don’t don’t matter … see my homepage – those who matter don’t mind, and those that mind don’t matter 🙂

    20. Certainly good to keep in mind, isn’t it?
      It reminds me a little of my all-time favorite prose-poem. Desiderata by Max Ehrman 🙂

    21. Sure thing DC 🙂

      Desiderata is by Max Ehrman, I think I told you that part already.
      Anyway, the name means “things that are desired.”
      It urges people to see the beauty and troubles of the world
      through wise, hopeful and compassionate eyes.

      This is my favorite passage.
      “…Speak your truth quietly and clearly, and listen to others,
      even to the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story…”

      If you like it, the link to the rest is:
      http://www.desiderata.com/desiderata-poem.html
      I may post the poem somewhere around here.
      It’ll remind me of what’s important and what’s not. 🙂

    22. Great 🙂
      I do hope you like it.
      I never can decide whether I love it because of the beauty conveyed in the words,
      the beauty in it’s very simplicity, or all of the above.
      It speaks to me like none other.
      I’m still going with the all of the above option though 🙂

    23. Just had a proper read through, very nice poem indeed, lot’s of wisdom, that mostly shadows my own experience ! Says it’s written by Max Ehrmann, 1927 …

    24. You read it?
      That’s pretty cool, DC. 🙂

      If your experiences run parrallel to that poem,
      then I’d imagine you’ve got to be one of the most calm people around.

      I don’t have all that much info on the author,
      I need to look up more about him and I will eventually.

      What I do know, is that when my life gets haywire or I write a honey of a post at 3am
      only for it to turn into crap by 9am,
      I can go read those passages and feel some better.
      The post will still a goner but I can always change it 🙂

    25. I just checked it out on Wikipedia and seems it’s in the public domain, even though the website you sent me say reproduced with permission.

      I’m just normal dude hun, share the same stresses and strains as everyone else. So I’m calm sometimes, other time not …

      As for the honey of a post, you’ll get those. Experience has shown, blog them anyway, something it took a while to learn and Shaun Gibson helped me with. Not every blog post you put out will be the bees knees, but you learn something everytime you post, so you’ll get more posts that are !

      Later …

      Don Charisma

      PS I might blog the poem since it’s in the public domain … thanks for sharing it with me 🙂

    26. You may be a normal dude, have stresses and strains just like everyone else but you’re a kind one. 🙂

      You really made Desiderata look great yesterday when you posted it. Thank you for that. Had I tried, it wouldn’t have been as nice looking. 🙂
      CeeLee

  6. Thank you for the kind award CeeLee! It came as a surprise and I am grateful. I must confess that I ‘m not good at picking who to give and who to leave so I’d probably award it to all. Thanks again and I must now think about my speech. I loved yours! 🙂

    1. Hi Elizabeth and welcome to the Adult Pool 🙂

      And thank you for accepting the nomination. 🙂
      No worries. There’s no expiration date on blog awards.
      I’m pretty sure that unlike the milk I just found in the back of the fridge-
      they don’t go bad or need to be lobbed outside lest the carton explode.
      Not that I just did that or anything. 😉

      Just enjoy it and have fun.
      ~CeeLee

I love getting comments. It's as close to being famous as I'll ever get.

