Why My Creativity Really Wads My Undies

 

Creativity and ADHD

My creativity levelย  runs on the high-octane end of the scale and that’s cool. I’m fine with having ideas and they’re fine with finding me. I get bombarded in the shower, smacked while driving, or (the redneck’s own personal fave) pounced on sometime between the hours of middle of the night and buttcrack of dawn.

I want to fix this.

Now.

Today, even.

I want to be productive when inspiration knocks so I need to identify the problem.

Meet the problem.
AKA: “We wad your undies and we love it” ย 
The Outlaw Ideas

My undie-wadding ideas aren’t your ordinary, everyday, law-abiding ideas. These are the outlaws of inspiration.

There is no reasoning with them because that would take away the fun they have when tormenting me during the night.

Hey!…pssst! Guess what CeeLee? We’ve got a good one for you! Get up! Go on, this is gonna rock! You’re going to want to write this down. Because we all know how you forget stuff these days.

Then they leak just enough detail to intrigue me so I have to get up, those jerks.

The fun little added bonus of each undie-wadding creativity gem is that it comes with a self-destructing mechanism.

Oh. Joy.

I know the chances of my remembering such a nocturnal inspiration visitation sans notes are roughly about as good as my chances on having our washer actually wash the clothes inside it instead of pretending it did.

Little hint? Slim to none.

The last time I tried playing the odds, it didn’t end well in either case. Allow me to demonstrate. Roll the footage.

Welcome to receiving and forgetting, how may I assist you?
  • My creativity sends a telegram detailing the idea to my unsuspecting brain.
  • My brain likes the idea, it loves the idea. Yeah, yeah CeeLee, let’s do this! But first thing in the morning, okay? You’ll totally remember it, you got this. Ha.
  • Morning arrives. I’m coffee-d and ready to go. And just like the upper management of a nameless company known for making washers and dryers, notification to the contractors (my fingers) that a new work order has been received, is never made. For the 3rd time. In a row.
  • My fingers are the innocents, they’re completely unaware. They’re hanging out at the water cooler, drumming on the keyboard, and arguing over what team will get last seed in March Madness.
  • The caffeine jolts the realization that the idea of an idea is about to lost if something isn’t done fast.
  • Notification is sent out via express delivery to the fingers, informing them of the snafu. Even if my fingers weren’t going to refuse on the grounds ofย  the required 24 hour notification period that’s listed clearly within their contract, it wouldn’t make a bit of difference. It’s already too late.
  • Boom. The idea has self destructed. The words won’t come out and I’m stuck. My brain screeches to a grinding halt faster than when Duck yells “Watch this!” (Loosely translated: I’m about to do something to give you white hair and day-long jitters-yay!)
I’m sorry, all creative idea lines are currently down, please try your request later

Nothing sucks worse than me spending an entire morning trying to remember the deets on the idea I had during the night, the one I didn’t jot down, but want to do a post on-today.

How do your creative processes work? I’d love to know!

Next Tuesday I’ll be posting some ideas (ha and ha) about ways to harness creativity and make it work better.

I figure that if it works for my ADHD creativity, it can work for anyone!

Have a great week everyone.

 

 

 

72 thoughts on “Why My Creativity Really Wads My Undies”

    1. Thank you Shehanne ๐Ÿ™‚

      It’s not fair is it?
      Getting the best inspiration when you’re trying to sleep is just wrong
      on so many levels ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I’m determined to find a workaround. I need it.
      Sleep deprivation isn’t exactly helping to make my daytime writing productive.
      I’ve got to be missing something. LOL

  1. Seriously you even can create an order. it just doesn’t get delivered.
    I love you thinking pattern ha ha to funny. been there. And it got worse I am telling you.

    And I mean seriously worse.

    Creativity the Crow way.
    It strikes me so I make the throw after I pull the pin. Making sure I go all out.
    Flying through the air like a ballerina the show is unfolding. It is mesmerizing
    The end is a splatter of dirt and fire making sure it ends with a bang.
    Perfection at its best.to the last second.
    This will work.
    Now where did I.my idea go. I can’t find it back.
    My ideas are like grenades. they work and boom they gone forever.

    It is like window shopping and not having the money. But never get to order one. Let alone have it delivered on paper.

    Or how is this for thought.

    Like fresh snow you build your snowball al ideas poured in. You throw it up as the perfect idea. and watch it splatter on the floor. scattered across the other flakes that make your idea you packed tightly in to flakes of snow again.

    I know you had enough snow ๐Ÿ˜›

    1. Yes Crow,
      Please for the love all things blooming, keep the snow!
      We’re done I tell you! Winter is over because I say it is ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Yeah, I wish that’d actually work…Again with the orders but no receipt, huh?

      I think I like creativity the Crow way ๐Ÿ™‚
      Sort of reminds me of…me.
      If I were more eloquent in my wording useage, that is. ๐Ÿ™‚

      The chasing after the idea I just had part…ugh…drives me bonkers.
      Still, I’m glad I’m not the only one to suffer that frustration.
      I know I’m in good company if it happens to a Ranting Crow as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. “undie-wadding creativity gem” We don’t know about everyone else, but that phrase…. ought to be bronzed CeeLee; cuz that is one badass term! Coin that bitch!!
    Of course there’s no reasoning. That’s the joy, task & craft of writing. Making sense of those coals we got to polish into diamonds. What this post tells us is that you are one talented freaking writer. (which we already knew!!!) No lack of idea’s, means you are an artist that can come up with fresh ideas all day long baby!!
    I once told a group of teens we we’re speaking to locally, that we compare writers to schitzo’s! Their faces….you should’ve seen them. Then Inion told them. We’re the only working professionals, that hear voices in our heads. Coarse we’ve often wondered if maybe we’ve missed the truth of that little tick. HA!! Or how many have been committed for merely being over imaginative. Great post CeeLee, as always, so we’re sharing it now. This will probably be the last visit for a little while ๐Ÿ˜ฆ We can’t wait to get back to Swim In The Adult Pool!! xoxo

    1. Okay, I’m laughing and typing which is a bad combo for anyone,
      but much worse when it’s me. You guys liked the undie-wadding creativity gem, huh?

      I decided it might be prudent to change the original phrase I had written.
      Because “panty-bunching creativity nugget” just seemed to lack a certain quality…
      Mostly the not-gonna-gross-peeps-out factor. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thank you so very much for the compliments, I’ll never get tired of reading that I’m talented.
      Makes the occasional you suck! rejection letter go down a bit smoother lol
      And thank you for stopping by here, saying hello and sharing before you guys go
      off and do your thing (little envious, not gonna lie)
      Please have fun for me and holler when you get back-
      you’ll always have an open invite to the Adult Pool ๐Ÿ™‚
      Hugs!
      CeeLee

  3. That’s me in a nutshell. I always wonder how much of it is the ADHD, and how much of it is just me being very forgetful. Lol. Great post, Sweetie!

    1. Hey Skhylar and thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’ve had the same question myself, for over 5 years.
      In my case, I’m pretty sure my ADHD is a steady fuel source to the outlaw ideas fire.
      But Duck reminds me daily about the fact that I’m old now and forgetful.
      I mostly try to ignore him though. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. As you may have seen, I also wrote something about feeling creative in the night. Have you ever had what you were sure was a brilliant idea during the night, written it down, and then looked at it in the morning and wondered, “Why did I think this was so great?”

    1. Hiya Cutter
      I just read your post and saw that you’d left a comment on mine.
      Great minds…right?
      To answer your question with a hearty “Hell yes!”might scare you so…
      Yep. I call them my 3 am stars.

      At 3 am the post I just wrote shines so brilliantly,
      I (erroneously) think I must be a genuis for managing to come up with such an awe inspiring piece.
      It might make grown men cry and women to envy my talent. I might win The Peace Prize.
      That’s at 3 am.

      By 9 am…well…LOL
      My star has morphed into a turd as soon as the light of day shone on it.
      And I wonder how much sleep deprivation made me hallucinate while I wrote it ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. creativity and investing in creative activities of some sort is a form of contemplative practice and is greatly beneficial for healing s long as the activities and time is kept in perspective as that it ought to be enjoyable and freeing. Letting there be no stress to it, creativity is sometimes flat though so, people do typically need to endure some tension at some point to find the growth.

    1. Agreed Eric, on all statements.
      It’s difficult for me at times to be able to break away from frustration when hyper-focused and locked in on what is causing me such grief. I’m beginning to learn some tricks to better handle that, thank goodness. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks Victoria ๐Ÿ™‚
      Post giggling is always considered a compliment here. I’m so glad you liked it.
      CeeLee

    1. Hi Barbara ๐Ÿ™‚
      Well, you certainly made me forget about saying discouraging words to my sleep deprivation for awhile.
      eh…It wasn’t listening anyway ๐Ÿ˜‰
      I’m working hard on trying to tighten up my writing. Hopefully the blog will reflect that.
      Thank you so much for the compliment and reblog, it really did make my day much better. ๐Ÿ™‚
      CeeLee

    2. Thank you Barbara ๐Ÿ™‚
      You’re right, you know.
      Today is here and already it’s much better.
      I love the way a new day, especially a new day with sun,
      has me start fresh with even more determination. ๐Ÿ™‚ Works every time.

  6. You know I love your creativity. Loved the post and the way you describe how your creative mind works. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Me, well I am far to analytical and my mind goes wild on troubleshooting and finding solutions. My creative mind is slow. It needs a seed to start growing, add in a little bit of fertilizer to help, gotta get it some water as well. Add some sunlight and if all these things work together happily then I can come up with some interesting flowers of creativity. I am checking out the Write Now prompts for some seeds for my vast fields and hoping that I can get a nice harvest.

    1. You know Forrest…I’ve an idea. Just an idea, mind you lol
      Only if you want and with no wagers or cold swimming pools involved.
      Deal? ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Maybe we could have a writing prompt er…write off? Between you and I.
      I’ve found that my creativity desperately needs focus and as I love the Write Now prompts…
      it could be a cool way for me to channel mine and a great seed starter/cold frame for yours.
      Let me know if you’re interested and we’ll go from there. No worries if you aren’t.
      It could be a win/win all the way around ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Hi Holley ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thank you, I’m glad you liked the post.
      Welcome to the Adult Pool by the way. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’ve been really impressed at the friendliness of the bloggers here.
      I hope you’ll like it, I sure do lol
      CeeLee

    2. Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚ I haven’t been blogging tooo long. Everyone has been friendly. Except one chick. But you’ll have that. ๐Ÿ™‚

    3. There’s always 1 a-hole in the bunch lol
      Don Charisma told me that, check out his blog when you get a chance.
      Not only does he have these gorgeous pics there, and talent apparently leaking from his pores,
      he’s also a wealth of info and very kind.

      Just don’t let 1 buttcrack ruin it for you. ๐Ÿ™‚
      You are always welcome here, I’ll help you if I can (heh see tech-challenged)
      or point you in the right direction if I can’t.
      I’ll go look at your blog shortly, I’m curious to see what things you like to blog about.
      CeeLee

    4. I follow Don Charisma. We do some of the same photo challenges. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I tried to handle the a-hole as gracefully as I could. Crisis averted. lol ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks! I appreciate it!

    5. Thanks! Do you know the theme song to “Mary Tyler Moore”? The one where she throws her hat up at the end? I feel like doing that right now. But I don’t wear hats much. lol

    6. I do know it as a matter of fact LOL
      I’ve felt that way a lot lately, myself.
      But like you, I don’t wear hats often.
      Ballcaps on unfixable bad hair days yeah, but not hats. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    7. I do have a knit hat that I wear sometimes when it’s cold. But unfortunately, those flapper hats aren’t in style. They are sooo stylish though. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Sounds like fun. I have only done one of the write now’s but I have enjoyed reading all yours.
    Glad to stay away from the icy pools and I will try not to get my briefs in a bunch. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Great! I’ll go visiting Random Thoughts momentarily.
      Can’t wait to see whatcha got.
      My post for the prompt on the 14th is scheduled for tomorrow.
      Is that the one you did? If so, I can post it tonight if you’d like ๐Ÿ™‚

      And yeah, you know why I stipulate what I will/won’t do with any wagers made.
      Never make a bet with a Duck, they always collect! lol

    1. I found your writing prompt entry as soon as I posted that comment last night, Forrest.
      I’ll be going back over and re-reading it today and drop you a comment there.
      The fact that you did a writing prompt says a great deal. Mostly that you rock LOL
      CeeLee

  8. I’ve tried to keep a diary with “Inspiration Book” written on it…….so far there is nothing written on there….so DON’T try that…! ๐Ÿ˜›
    No need to thanks for this advice. It was my pleasure ! ๐Ÿ˜€ Lol

    1. It’s hard to keep a journal or diary, Zee.
      Wwayy back in the day when I didn’t have computer access,
      I’d fill one up in a month but now…same problem as yours LOL

      Your blog though, that’s a type of journal. At least that’s how I view mine.
      When we post it’s about our thoughts and what went on during the day, right?
      So maybe you’ve been journaling for a while.
      You’ve certainly inspired me ๐Ÿ™‚

    2. Awww, C’mon Cee! How would I inspire you? That was you and you alone ! โค

      And yes you are right about blog being journal, but I think sometimes there are thoughts and worries that you wouldn’t want to share with the whole world. Sometimes we need a little privacy. But keeping journal is really hard. I don’t know girls do it like they show it in one fo those movies ! ๐Ÿ˜› Lol

    3. How does Zee inspire me, let me count the ways….
      1. Commenting on my blog posts and letting me know her opinions, what works and what doesn’t.
      2. Encouraging me by her own infectious enthusiasm to write more blog posts.
      3. Reading her blog posts (the prompts you do are stellar) give me ideas for my own.
      4. Just by being herself, she has a wonderful energy. One that I wish she could share with me on occasion…
      Need I go on? ๐Ÿ˜‰
      You totally rock Zee. That’s why. ๐Ÿ™‚

    4. Oh My God, Come here!!! I wanna give you a long hug !!!
      Be aware this may involve some tears! Muffh Muffh

      You make me wanna be the best version of myself, improve myself to be a better person Cee ! Those are the most kindest words someone has ever said to me. I’m almost in tears. Now I’m gonna stalk you for ever ! Lol

    5. “…You make me wanna be the best version of myself, improve myself to be a better person…”
      Right there? Just totally made my day. No joke. ๐Ÿ™‚
      If I can do that, I feel like I can conquer the world,
      even being tech challenged and eaten up with outlaw ideas.
      What I told you was true and no lip service.

      I’ll be your biggest cheerleader. ๐Ÿ™‚
      You already got the tools and the talent you need,
      so the best thing you can do? Show me. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Hugs
      CeeLee

    6. You deserved what I said, Every single word my dear Cee โค
      And Same to you, I’ll be there for you whenever you need or even when you don’t…I’ll always be there to bug you ! ๐Ÿ˜€ Thank you ! ^^’
      Hugs Back

    7. Oh good, we both agree then. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Should I stray off course, you’ll yank me back on it
      and vice versa. Not that you would stray off course.
      You’ve got such great focus-hey! Oh wow! It’s a sunny day today! LOL
      Hugs
      CeeLee

    8. Hahaha, Me focused? Not really Cee, Its really hard for me to focus unless its something REALLY important otherwise I just float through ! Lol
      One of the perks of being lazy, eh! ๐Ÿ˜€

    9. Oh yeah…movies showing chicks that journal?
      Not reality at all LOL
      I never smile and lay down on my bed, kick my heels up and journal.
      Um…lemme make sure….nope. LOL

    10. Repeat after me.
      Movies-are-not-real-and-when-I-see-an-actress-writing-a-journal…
      ah…never mind lol You get it. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      It’s real easy to compare ourselves to what we think things should like.
      But whenever I do that, I always come out on the losing end.
      Don’t feel beat yourself up over a comparison not based in reality ๐Ÿ™‚

    11. Hahaha, Awww, Thank you Cee. Sometimes the line between reality and fantasy can get a little blurry. But you are here to pull me right back up ! โค ๐Ÿ˜€

    12. Speaking as one who would love nothing more to spend her time in non-reality~
      because I look better, write better, and generally Murphy’s Law free when there…
      no worries LOL
      I gotcha back Zee ๐Ÿ˜‰

    13. No harm? Not usually, no, but with my luck and Murphy’s Law…
      You never know what my pop up and bite you lol

  9. Hi CeeLee,

    Unfortunately I am not blessed (or cursed perhaps) with such an abundance of ideas. When I do have ideas though, I also need to wrote them down or I will certainly forget them.

    But what I usually do is then tell my brain “I’m going to write about this in a couple days. You go think about it.” Then my subconscious goes off and starts to make connections with all the things my conscious brain can’t recall. It’s like planting seeds in a fertile place and waiting for it to germinate.

    We all have these fertile minds. It’s finding the right trick to tap that fertility. Seems to me you have found a way to tap it .

    Take care.

    1. Hi Joe ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’ve been searching for ways to work with instead of against my creativity.
      And I think (key word there) I’ve found a few. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I like your point about the subconcious needing to mull things over before connections can be made.
      It rings true for me.
      While I may suffer attacks of spontaneous inspiration, my best are the ones that have perculoated awhile.
      Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to drop that comment.
      It gives me something to ponder on today. And that’s always welcomed. ๐Ÿ™‚
      CeeLee

  10. Hi Cee Lee ๐Ÿ˜€

    As you may have noticed by now, after much deliberation on your screwed up underwear I have decided to follow you until August 7th 03;02am. I reckon at that time it will be too hot to sleep in anything. Your outlaws of inspiration will throw a wobbly, possibly you out of bed, by screaming for scrunched undies and find nothing ……………

    You may finish this at 03:02 August 7th. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I still must get a life. Ralph โค

    1. LOL!
      Out of curiosity, how long did you deliberate on my scrunchie undies?
      See, I was wondering where they’d gone, as they weren’t in a heap by the washer
      that remains on strike over the unfair washing requirements. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Oh. And if you happen to stumble on a Box O’ New Life,
      you’d share with me, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    2. Hi Cee Lee ๐Ÿ˜€

      Yes. I admit it !! It was me !! Even the ones you were wearing. I took them because I am an expert ironer of women’s underwear. My first wife, a nurse, wanted her bras and undies ironed. So I am familiar with the intricacies of cups etc. They have been returned cleaned and pressed and can be found ……. goodness knows where I left them ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I’ve not found a Box O’ New Life yet, but am searching in secret places ๐Ÿ˜‰ โค

    3. Aha I knew it!
      I had my suspicions, but wasn’t entirely sure.
      There’s a Ranting Crow running around who also has a fondness for such things.
      But.
      You aren’t as slick as you think you are, because I’m still wearing-wow.
      I stand corrected. You are good. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      I suppose I can’t fuss too much, not when they’re cleaned and pressed. LOL
      Ralph, you make me smile. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Keep up the search for that New Life, I’m sure it’s somewhere close by. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Hugs
      CeeLee

    4. You are so much fun Cee Lee. I am enjoying myself in here. You make me smile as well ๐Ÿ˜€

      Now that I have straightened out your underwear is there anything else you need. A long distance massage perhaps or just pressing Like on your next post. That will make you squirm ๐Ÿ˜‰ xox โค

    5. A long distance massage…hmmm…sounds intriguing LOL
      I’m fairly easy to please ๐Ÿ™‚
      Well…okay, so a winning lottery ticket, Box O’ New Life, a published story-that would be great.
      But I’m good with your simply pressing “Like” and/or dropping the occasional comment and I’m happy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    6. Yes. I’ve heard that you are very easy to please Cee Lee ๐Ÿ˜‰

      AND as this is the second comment of three to you this afternoon, you should be a triple happy bunny โค

    7. A triple happy bunny…
      Okay you get the blue ribbon.
      In first place, we have Ralph; in the categories of Phrases Never Applied To Me
      and Originality in Comments. Congrats!
      I know you must feel on top of the world right now ๐Ÿ˜‰

      What can I say? LOL
      A comment here, knowing a I caused a grin or a laugh there,
      or my knowing that I may actually have something that people want to read-
      that does it for me.

      I could do worse for a hobby. Like being a poorly trained glass-eater or a rodeo clown.
      Either one would land me in a hospital, having to explain my actions for the gazillionth time,
      to a gaggle of giggling residents. Now that would be terrible.
      I should know, I was a nurse for 12 years. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    8. Ah ha !! That’s where you get your humour from CeeLee …. nursing !!

      I love your hobby of blogging. It’s a shame that I only just found you and Shehanne.as I have held back so much with other bloggers.

      Keep creating and I’ll keep following you my friend. โค xox

    9. And I’m glad you found me. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Never mind the time it took finding me and Shehanne,
      the point is that you did ๐Ÿ™‚

      I like your blog too.
      You keep writing and I’ll keep reading-and vice versa.
      It works for me ๐Ÿ˜‰

I love getting comments. It's as close to being famous as I'll ever get.

