List your blog goals and get writers block-free!

 

 

My Blogging Goals
Um…uh…
I know this, right?

 

Let’s do a quick, fast and dirty re-cap

Over the past month, I’ve joyfully dragged you (kicking and screaming for help) along with me, as I identified the problems behind my ADHD creativity-gems , exploring possible options in hopes of being able to work around the little terrors. Or at the least make peace with them, since they refuse to leave.

My reason?

So there would be no more of my subjecting innocent and unsuspecting readers to posts of questionable 3am star quality.

Well there was that, and no there would be no further tongue clicking in disapproval over the poor grammar and atrocious punctuation on display. (I know it was you, Mom) I was good with that.

I had nary a cramp nor a twinge of impending writers block. All systems go.

Then I entered the WordPress Blogging 201. It’s the 14 day challenge to help you brand, build and grow your blog. And I want to brand, build, and grow my blog, just as if it were a mutant tomato plant that got overfed on mega-doses of fertilizer.

Not that I have any knowledge in mutant tomato plants or mega-doses of fertilizer. Okay. Not much.

I most definitely have el zilcho experience in blog growing.

As soon as I read the words, “write down 3 concrete goals you want to achieve with your blog…” that was it.

My inspiration and creativity got up and walked, stumbled, okay fine, it limped. But it limped faster than US Airways realization of their oopsie, how’s that?

So moving forward but back to my point, I’m stuck.Β 

 

CeeLee’s blogging goals

1. Learn how to make and actually use an editorial calendar for blog posts and ideas.

To be able to plan out what I’ll be posting about in the following months. Ahead of time.

 

2. Consistently publish a pre-written and pre-scheduled, and coherent,(no 3am stars) post-every Tuesday, Thursday, and Sunday.

To start this month and going through to August 31st 2014.Β  *No excuses.

*Excuses: Laptop or the car breaking down and/or possums invading the house.

 

3. Starting this month til August 31st 2014-I want to spend 30 minutes twice a week to comment.

Yes, I saidΒ comment on my followers blogs to let them know I’m not a spammer, a robot, or a snot. Nothing other than me, being me.

I think that’ll do for a good start towards blogging goals.

 

I’d better get to work on making them happen.

 

Author: Christine Lee aka CeeLee

 

 

31 thoughts on “List your blog goals and get writers block-free!”

  1. yeah I got me some. they were are.. no wait i got them really..

    yeah yeah2nd and 4th friday of the month music post. uh huh mondays is for moaning. ooh baby
    pretty sure i got my weekend covered.

    no got nothing. sorry all out of stock. i just do what ever lol πŸ˜€ kind of fly that way. south north.. where the sun is.

    1. See? That sounds like me, Crow. LOL
      I know I have them, they’re around here somewhere…
      Maybe I left them in the car…;)

      Your Monday Moaning posts are really good.
      I’ve been catching them when I can. Great idea. πŸ™‚

    2. Mondays are the best for moaning and raving a crow . he he that sounded dirty.
      But yeah. I am scattered. I need to check the week before to see what s up tomorrow πŸ˜€
      Guess it makes it look I got a plan.

      Well my car is non existing. Thought I could have still left it in there just need to remember the cab number.

    3. You crack me up Crow.
      Only you-can be as scattered as you are
      be okay with it and not have it drive you bonkers. lol

      I need to learn this trick. And soon.
      My office is a mess, my schedule is nonexsistent,
      and am fairly positive a post is due today.

      Time for me to re-route and get a new flight plan.
      So to speak. πŸ˜‰

    1. Hi Lana πŸ™‚

      Thanks for stopping by! I really enjoyed your post btw.
      It was nice knowing I’m not the only one to say Huh?! I need to what? LOL

      My post, the mutant tomato did not want to be written. It took me forever to do it and I can tell the quality is forced, I’m sure everyone else can too.

      What do you do, when you need to make goals for something you’ve always let happen naturally? That’s my question.

      I’m glad I did list them out, I know I’ll tweak them as I go along, but it certainly showed me that I’ve a long way to go.

      eh…at least I know where I stand πŸ™‚

    1. Good point, Eric. πŸ™‚
      For me? Probably.

      But my spending time researching and then doing a trial run and then just organizing-all to make blog posts…well…? LOL

      I’m giving it til Friday. If I can’t find something that’ll work for me, I’ll do a work-around. It may not be pretty, sure won’t be refined, but it will work. πŸ™‚

    2. Here is what I do… close to this anyway…

      1) check the log
      – do I need to reply to anyone?
      – smile, laugh, cry, pray and so on at comments
      – reply to the short ones

      2) open blogs that are on the log
      repeat tasks of above step
      – like or like/comment, etc
      I open each blog in a separate tab
      so I can leave open any that require
      more than a minute

      3) open the reader if time remaining
      repeat tasks of above steps

      4) open blogs I follow if time remaining
      repeat above steps (opened each in a new tab)

      start over later if there is time

      meantime when I have some minutes

      5) check drafts folder and finish at least one post
      schedule it – check scheduled posts and update
      them before they post to make sure they have
      categories and tags and my ignature block and related posts

      6) do any other organizing of pages and so on
      if time is availabe

      I carry on researh in betwen things
      I have sometimes lots of windows and tabs open

      I use notepad to keep a text file of URL’s
      and copy content if any into the file for a new draft

      Its been a few months now and I have more than 50 drafts
      and that is maybe a few to many so once in a while I scroll
      the list and see what I forgot is in it.
      I have from 5 to 20 posts scheduled ahead – sometimes
      I quick edit the start dates/times and change them around

      At this oint I always have something and of course I can
      create something new pretty fast too from a copy of a
      previous post or whatever.

      The editor isn’t too good so I have text in notepad
      that has image borers and titles and a shell for a video
      that then just need a minor change in the text tab of the editor

      At first it took me all of my time to do the above for one
      post a day a just a few followers to visit – of course I
      do it all faster and better now and so I can research, create
      a draft or two and list and visit up to 100 blog pages as well
      as finish something in the draft folder.

    3. This is good stuff Eric!
      I want to do something similar-I know I can, I just need to set it up.
      I do have a few questions-to be sure we’re on the same page and all.

      The log you’re referring to-is that our blog dashboard or comment archive or both?
      Or something completely different?

      Is there a certain text editor you prefer over others?

      And what kind of text editor has images borers?
      I use ODT myself but it’s more than a bit clunky-
      especially with images.

      Thank you for this and hope I didn’t inuandate you
      with too many questions all at once LOL
      Hugs
      CeeLee

    4. LOG: I use the dashboard and the archive. I sometimes may save some information into a text file that remains open during the day.

      I use the WordPress editor now… I did use FrontPage in the past and then past my html code into the WordPress editor using the text tab. I know enough html not to need FrontPage any more now.

      I don;t know about other HTML editors really. I like FrontPage but it isn’t on my laptop so when I figured I could get most everything I want using the WordPress editor, I stopped making the pages with FrontPage. FrontPage is far superior.

      What is image “bores” ???

    5. LOL Images borers-that’s what you said!

      …”The editor isn’t too good so I have text in notepad
      that has image borers and titles and a shell for a video…”

      Since I hadn’t the faintest idea of what it was but didn’t want to look ignorant,
      I googled it-and the results were…interesting to put it mildly. πŸ˜‰
      Must’ve been a typo. I’m curious as to what you meant.
      Image alignment is what my guess would be.

      I’ll look into FrontPage for sure.
      Anything that will help me to get the format the way I want,
      without my spending an hour on it (or longer) will be welcomed. πŸ™‚

      (chuckles to self, image borers…I love it!)
      I’m going to use that somewhere, somehow, sometime-soon. πŸ™‚
      Thank you Eric. For both the giggle and the great info.
      I very much appreciare it.

    6. I don’t know if it was clear. I use DRAFT to save my posts until they are nearly complete and then I SCHEDULE a post for a future date. So, I have PUBLISHED, SCHEDULED, and DRAFT posts

    7. Aha! Much clearer now. πŸ™‚
      Looking into everything now.
      And you’re right, it’ll take me a minute to learn it all,
      get my groove on, and start doing what I want to do so well-
      it sure beats the system I’ve in place now. LOL

      Case in point? Today’s appeal for help with a tagline πŸ˜‰

    8. So I just read your posts on editing you blog. I have been using Window Live Writer for posting mine. I know I am not using all its functionality and have more to learn on it but it is really full featured.
      It can save drafts both to your blog and locally, it publishes directly from the program. i am not sure about scheduling from the program but posting a draft to word press and setting the publish date from there is possible.and it has a simple image editor built into it.
      Writing a blog is in a what you see is what you get format.

    9. Hmmm…this bears looking into as well.
      I’m ready to do almost anything to make my blog posting life easier.
      Almost anything πŸ˜‰

      I’m going to check that now. The laptop came with that as I recall, but I’ve never used it.
      And since my curiousity is demanding answers…
      I’ll be getting back with you on the results. LOL
      Thank you Forrest! πŸ™‚

  2. Oh no not the return of the dreaded possum posse. πŸ™‚

    And you must share your knowledge of mega mutant tomatoes because well I just love tomatoes and am really looking forward to this years harvest and hoping it is better than last years.

    1. Oh I will be sharing my recipes for the creation of mutant tomatoes, Forrest, never fear LOL

      1st rule is to throw out your gardening handbook. Because really…why would you use that if you want mutants? All you’ll get are normal tomatoes.

      More to come and soon. I’ve been planning on doing something like that here-for awhile. It’s gonna be interesting for sure πŸ™‚

  3. I’ve tried to go the schedule route with posting, but I found that life gets in the way. The days I plan to write are inevitably the busy days at work or when I just can’t make the words happen.

    1. Hi Cutter-how did the vacation go?
      It looked nice πŸ™‚

      I’m running into the same problems with the editorial calendar.. I tried going that route not too long ago, using Google Calendar and found that I wasn’t using it. At all. LOL

      I spent part of the day yesterday and some of today, researching options and trying to find out what might work best with my chaotic life and always changing schedule, but am coming up empty.

      I must be missing something,
      I just don’t know what it is. Good to know I’m not the only one who’s had problems with it. πŸ™‚

    2. No, I think that happens to everyone who doesn’t write as a full time job (and maybe it happens to them too. Ill let you know if I ever get there)

      And the vacation was great!

    3. Yes, please let me know if you find something that works
      with and around life, work, parenting, etc πŸ™‚

      And I’m glad your vacation was good one. πŸ™‚
      I’m trying to hold the envy at bay, as I sure could use one.
      Now. Today. This second. LOL

    1. I thought so too πŸ™‚
      But making the goals was the easiest part lol
      Making all these goals work?
      Yeah….that’s not so easy πŸ˜‰

    1. I had the same thoughts, Ralph. πŸ™‚
      I used quick-dry cement but it still wasn’t fast enough
      to stop Duck from autographing it.
      Oh well…win some, lose some πŸ˜‰

    1. Oh my!
      I’ve awards on awards! πŸ™‚
      Thank you so much for this.
      I’ll get moving on it next week,
      as this one hasn’t been the calmest of ones LOL

I love getting comments. It's as close to being famous as I'll ever get.

