Life Among Stink Bug Invasions and Angry Racoons

 

Life as I Know it with ADHD

 

Survival of the fittest is a loosely gripped sanity

For those of us who have adult ADHD, we’re painfully aware of the pros and cons. For some of us, that means having more days (nights) that are of the crap-out variety.

I should know.

I’m a classic example.

I’ve had plenty of crap-out nights lately…

“Okay, that’s it. I am officially done having stink bugs crawling all over me at night! They never signed a peace treaty.”

“Why do they have to come out at night?”

“It’s not like I’ve got issues sleeping or anything! And why won’t they die?

“This is just what I need. Not only do I get the giant mutated steroid-using stink bugs but the friggin’ introverted ones who have to be day-shy too?!”

“Yeah, like I won’t dream about this.

Less of the more gleeful days too…

“Look Ma, no hands, no trauma, no harm done-I am magnificent!

“Sooo, guess what? It was sooo awesome!”


“I wasn’t chased down and eaten by the excessively large, stink-bug steroid supplier and user, ‘roid raging, dog-food eating racoon today.”

“No rabies shots for me-yay!”

The cons do suck…

I hate the way my ADHD keeps me from doing things most Mom’s wouldn’t think about. I will ask for help, rather than stand on my pride, but it hurts.

When it comes to Duck, (who has more than a village following him) there are some things I want to do by myself-for him.

But…I’m marking teaching him social skills off my list.

I’ll find something else that I can do. Though it doesn’t make up for the lack, it does ease the pain of my having the instincts but not the skills.

The pros: I still have a choice

I have ADHD and it sucks, but I do have the choice on whether I choose (try) to view these experiences from a humourous angle or give in, roll over, let the un-killable stink-bugs crawl on me and give up.

Today, I’m going the (mostly) humorous route.

CeeLee

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “Life Among Stink Bug Invasions and Angry Racoons”

    1. That’s true but I’d love(maybe)to know what they’ve been eating. These arent ordinary bugs, these suckers are the wooly mammoths of stink-bugs and consequently really, really hard to kill. (shudder) As if spiders aren’t bad enough. LoL

      I can’t wait til this house is done and all the wild life goes far away from me.It makes me think I should’ve considered remaining a city dweller πŸ˜‰

    2. hahaha.. poor you. There was a time, my room was full of flees. I kept cleaning it and kept killing them, but they came back. I finally had to use three bug bombs and leave the place for two days – thrice in two weeks. Finally the battle was over. Good luck πŸ™‚

    3. Good luck is always appreciated. And I need it lol

      As for the flea festivities, you poor thing. Been there. And will probably circle back to that this summer with our dogs. The more expensive than a month’s groceries, flea preventatives we use on them doesn’t stop them from bringing a few survivors in. yay…;)

  1. Always love your (mostly) humorous outlook. Hang in there, and tell yourself the good days outweigh the crap ones and you are NEVER in this alone!!
    As for giant mutant stink bugs… Eeewwwww!

    1. Eeww! Is the word of the day LoL
      While they may be winning in the numbers game, I’m triumphing in the determination of extermination department πŸ˜‰

      I know the crap versus gleeful days all kind of, sort of, maybe evens out. Some days are better than others.

      What helps is knowing that if I blog about them or use some less than universally well known phrases, that there are people who not only understand but go through similar.

      Now that sounded bad lol Not meant as a misery loves company reference at all! πŸ˜‰

  2. I have absolutely no idea what on earth you are talking about in this post my friend. No change there then πŸ˜‰ That’s why I’m following you, out of curiosity really. ❀

    1. Ah! The truth comes out LoL
      I should’ve known it wasn’t for my sex appeal! Oh woe is me!

      I can’t even type that without cracking up LoL

    2. Talking about your sex appeal is for other places. Not here, as some of your readers might get excited to much and press Like or even make a comment πŸ˜‰

    3. Nah…I’m safe, Ralphie.
      Not after the pics of you, showing all your gorgeous…um…attributes?
      have surfaced. I’ll bet you’ve gained a lot of admirers LOL

    4. Have you been peeking ? I must close the curtains. Those satellite cameras are everywhere nowadays πŸ˜‰ No. Not one in my bed !!

    5. Just me, as far as you know.
      Could be I’ve a Ranting Crow perched on my shoulder, but you’d still be safe to prance about or whatever it is that you might do.
      Me, personally, I like to yodel. Whatever gets you through the day πŸ˜‰

  3. Hope the battle with the mutant stink bugs turns your way soon.

    ~~sends Micro Self Targeting Stinkbug Flamethrower.~~

    Hope that helps.

    1. Self targeting flame thrower, aw… Forrest, you are too good to me!
      Only you would think of my tech inadequacies (and bad aim)
      and find the one thing that’s (hopefully) foolproof. πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much! I won’t burn down the house now.
      Wait…had I already scheduled that for today?
      nahh…we’re good. πŸ˜‰

  4. Stink Bugs Suck! You Rock! Always see things through a humorous looking glass my dear! For warriors never give in to sorrow or fear; they battle with their wits! As you do! Now…although you we’re plagued by stink bugs, (those nasty little buggers!) We live in the Smoky’s so for us, it’s the gallon nippers or the brown lady bugs that come in Egyptian Plague like numbers! When we lived in Florida, it was giant Steroidal Palmetto bugs which is code word for Fu**ing Hercules Roaches! What’s up with bugs and needing to torment humans? Could this be some payback for being smashed and killed by so many of our kind? We will most definitely be doing some research on this to rid us and you my lady of your Stink Bug infestation! No worries, CeeLee, we shall find the cure to the Stink Bug Problem & get back with you on it! πŸ˜‰ xoxo ❀

    1. The stink bugs have informed me that if we hadn’t started our DIY project,
      if we hadn’t disturbed them in their homes, they’d never have felt the need to retaliate.
      There is no negotiating with them, no hopes of a peace treaty as they cannot forgive
      the collateral damage incurred resulting from a shoe-throwing incident.
      Figures πŸ˜‰

      I used to vacation every summer in Pawleys Island, SC.
      Great place. Peace literally oozed from every nook and cranny.
      But I grew very well acquainted with Palmetto bugs and share the same opinions of them as you both do.

      Specifically that it’s a nice name for a super-sized and indestructible cockroach.
      Gotta love Southerners and our way of applying innocent sounding names to what isn’t so pleasant
      and/or damn near impossible to clean off the windshield) πŸ˜‰

      Consider me open to any and all suggestions.
      I just found out this morning that the stink bugs have joined forces with the spiders. πŸ˜‰

    1. Hi ladies and good morning πŸ™‚
      (It is morning, right?;)
      And thank you. The blog is the largest WIP currently.
      I’m considering making some big changes,
      but I’m not sure how and whether I should.

      Such as splitting the 2 main aspects-ADHD and my writing, or leave it be.
      I’ve a raging case of Can’t Leave Well Enough Alone-atosis LOL

    1. Great…nah…I’m still kickin’ though.
      That’s got to mean something. πŸ™‚
      And yeah, I’m smiling too.

I love getting comments. It's as close to being famous as I'll ever get.

