Of Blisters and Happiness

 

“There are no mistakes. The events we bring upon ourselves, no matter how unpleasant, are necessary in order to learn what we need to learn; whatever steps we take, they’re necessary to reach the places we’ve chosen to go.”  

Richard Bach

Little did I know this pic was the beginning of change
Little did I know this one pic was the beginning of big change
One month ago…

I was drifting.

And I knew it, but was barely aware, giving it merely a nod in the way of acknowledgement, so mired down was I, with just getting through the day.

Just one step…

Opportunity was already here and waiting for me.

The only action required on my part was to take it.

And I did.

I grabbed hold reluctantly, my fears nearly consuming the muttered answer, uttered while sitting in the shade on a porch in the middle of an eye watering bright day.

 “Yes, I’ll give it a shot.”

Little did I know that my perspective was about to take a squalling 180 and race towards the positive.

I did it.
I gave my word and I kept it.

I worked those hours and then some. I worked harder than I have in a long time. And every blister and bruise, ache and pain I earned were my badges of courage.

And I wore/wear them proudly.

Each day I came home exhausted beyond explanation was proof that I really could do this, despite all of the discouragement my fears were throwing in my way.

Each day became just a little brighter.
Plenty of blisters, swollen feet, and maybe a few tears
Plenty of blisters, swollen feet, and maybe a few tears
Each day is better than the last.

Those inner voices of mine, the nagging persistent one that reminds me of my past, the hateful, cynical one that whispers of failures yet to come, are quieter now.

This is me waking up and finding happy
This is me. Waking up happy AND in contacts I can now afford

 

They’re being blocked out by a calmer voice that murmurs that yes, indeed I can do this.

And of the many rewards that will follow.
3 thoughts on “Of Blisters and Happiness”

  1. Well i have to say goooooo you.

    Having the inner voice of doubt squelched by a clam voice of achievement. What a great feeling that is.

    I have heard it said that opportunity only knocks once but it sounds like it may have only knocked once but hung around for a bit waiting for your response. I am so glad to hear that things are going in a positive direction for you and hope that they continue that way for a very long time.

  2. Go CeeLee!!!! Way to prove to yourself that you can do anything you set out to do. Way to challenge yourself out of that comfort zone and go for what you want/need. Hugs to you! 🙂

I love getting comments. It's as close to being famous as I'll ever get.

