The Story of the Taming of Wild Beasts

 

 

She approaches the wild beasts slowly and with the type of caution that can only be gained through hard experience.

For the beasts outnumber her in testosterone and  volatile tween emotions and are holding firmly on to hope for their fondest wish to be granted and their voices simultaneously change. Well that,  AND suffering from the apparent inability to apply deodorant on a daily basis until reminded, nagged, and threatened at least forty times…let’s say that they are unpredictable under the best of circumstances.

Luck, however, appears to be on her side, for the beasts are distracted for the moment, their full attention engaged in a rousing, if slightly heated, debate over which game is cooler–Portals or Half Life 2, and the reasons why.

Having not yet been asked her opinion, indeed, her appearance hasn’t even been noticed, she feels she’s managed to successfully slip past the early warning Mom’s on a Mission proximity alarms.

She is as ready as she’s going to be. She’s brave. She’s fearless. She’s going to poke the danger –with a stick.  

It’s Saturday morning and just warm enough outside that I can imagine Spring is here if I screw my eyes shut and breathe in deeply enough. I’m claustrophobic with cabin fever and almost sick from the need to get out.

I’m hoping Duck and his friends feel the same.

The Falls of the Ohio

It’s a perfect day for fossil hunting on the fossil beds. Nothing is finer than that, if one has to be forced away from all things indoors, according to Duck.

So focused was I, on getting Duck and Friends out of the house and away from electronics, that I failed to realize that this trip was just as much for me, as it was for them.

We played in the sunlight.

And for a while, I was able to forget. Forget about how it feels, to live in steel toes and a hard hat, about how crazy it is now, being 1 man down and about the worry over bills and the stress that comes from having ADHD and all its quirks, oh, and just being me.

I want it to be Spring

For a single amazing afternoon nothing mattered other than the warmth of the air, about capturing it all with a cell camera, and the laughter.

Oh, the laughter.

Nothing bothered me, not even the kicky breeze that managed to ruffle my shirt and bare a small amount of belly to complete strangers.

My admittedly tighter than a few months ago  belly, but my belly nonetheless. Showing off my winter white skin and the glimpse of a tattoo attesting to my wilder days paled in comparison to the feeling of freedom and sense of all being right within my world .

I forgot my worries and I played, right along with the boys. The same ones who were so concerned over voice changes that could occur at any minute.

It's a lot bigger than I thought

We played.

We bathed in the sunlight and we soaked up every single second of it. And we slept well that night. Perhaps better than we have since cold weather came to town.

Some days just seem to have perfection down to an art.

And this was one of them.

The boys morphed back into wild beasts but not until the sun went down.

Eh. We can’t always be perfect.

On the walking bridge

The end

~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Story of the Taming of Wild Beasts”

  1. Great post CeeLee. Thank you for sharing the sunshine in words. Your bravery is to be commended – as a former tween-beast myself I will say thank you (in case your quarry let that one slip) 😀

    1. Glad you enjoyed the sun 🙂
      And thank you, for thanking me lol Tween beast taming is quite the formidable task. Especially when dealing with a pack mentality

  2. Sounds like a great day for just letting your self be your self. The beasts must have also had a great day as well. Fossil hunting sounds like so much fun and i see that you visited a bridge on your outing as well, very cool with a very cool pic.

    It is funny how the darkness can bring out the wild beasty in hormone filled younglings.

    Pass on to the beasties that Portal is a very cool puzzle game and Half-Life 2 is a very cool FPS simply because they are.

    1. Consider the message passed on and for the record, Forrest, Duck tends to share your views on the games. Birds of a feather I suppose 😉

      It was a great day, it really was. I wish I could bottle those up to break out when I need them most. 🙂

I love getting comments. It's as close to being famous as I'll ever get.

