Pineapple Pain with a Side of Novacaine

 

While it’s been fun to share a few of my older posts on Facebook (thanks to everyone who walked down memory lane with me) while I regain my balance, some fresh stuff is long overdue.

Okay.

What can I say? Life has been busy. I’m off-balance, off schedule, and beginning to get (more) weird around the edges. Since January, my days have fallen into a wake and shake beginning pre-dawn with a sag and drag finale back towards home, always with the hope that it’s before sunset.

Though when I feel exceptionally energetic, I do try to switch it up and change my sag and drag to more of a slouch and wince end. Because I like to live life on the edge and be unpredictable and all that crap.

Lately, I’m lucky to remember my name, so asking me a complicated question (Hey, did you know your bangs are on fire?) and expecting a coherent answer is just plain mean.

Still, there are some days that are more memorable than the rest of the blur. Like figuring out that running on a treadmill in yoga pants with the mp3 player clipped to the waistband does not-repeat-does NOT do anything whatsoever to enrich the lives or improve the health and well-being of anyone.

Add to that piece of knowledge is that wearing underpants under said yoga pants is ALWAYS a good idea. For everyone.

So there’s that.

Oh and my finding out that what is being said and what my ears hear may in fact be 2 totally different things, yeah, THAT has led to very interesting if sort of confusing conversations with the boss (Did you just tell me that I’m a pain in your pineapple?? Was that really called for and what does that MEAN?!) various friends and family members.

Duck, on the other hand, loves it. Gee, I wonder why.

And lastly, there’s the picture below.

 

Dental Drama
I trust dentists as much as I trust that my friend is telling me the truth about her dog loving his leash

 

This is me last Friday. I hadn’t been my normal happy-go-lucky, boom the bass til my teeth rattle me awake in the morning and drag my tired butt home in the evening self and the boss took note.

Despite it might be the bass and teeth rattling start to my mornings that caused the issue to begin with is…well, really, who cares?

No, the point is, I had to take the pic to send to my boss because she was serious when she informed me that I could no longer grace the workplace with my overflowing bounty of wit and beauty and well…mouthiness until I went to the dentist and was able to provide proof of a bloody stump and/or hole-she wasn’t partial to either choice.

Alright, you got me.

So I may have not worded it EXACTLY like she did, but trust me, the intent was there.

Nice, right?

I love my job and I want to keep it but I still do things on my own terms, so I opted for a pic of my feet, wearing the ugliest steel toes only I would wear, knowing those shoes alone would positively identify me, while the dentist chair would prove my location much more nicely than a picture of senseless blood and gore.

Because I care.

Thing is, she wasn’t being a pain in my pineapple (did I mention my hearing is starting to go but in the way of all things funny?) despite the hard-edged ultimatums issuing through gritted but perfectly healthy teeth and furrowed eyebrows and possessing hearing that a bat would envy.

She was very concerned.

And tired of me being tired. And not eating. And being unnecessarily mean, though I will gladly go on record and swear most victims had it coming and I can attest to being able to afford to lose a few meals.

She had watched me transform into an Orajel swilling junkie who snarled at terrified vendors before gobbling Excedrin like candy over the space of 2 weeks and she was over it.

She wasn’t buying my promise that I’d go when I got paid, not when I’d already tried that one-twice over-she wasn’t swayed by my whispered confession that I’m scared stupid by dentists, and didn’t dignify my impassioned declarations that nothing good had ever come from my visiting one but drama and pain with so much as a smirk.

“Don’t come back until it’s done.”

Well, fine. There’s the pic.

She’s right though. I did feel better despite having blood all over my shirt, sporting a lopsided chipmunk look and…listening to the people in line behind me at Walmart wonder loudly enough that even I could hear them, if I had lost or won the fight.

Because I’m CeeLee and ah kin ooo thiff.

But I totally draw the line at getting hearing aids.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Pineapple Pain with a Side of Novacaine”

  1. I’m going through dental work now. Horribly expensive and painful to be sure. After my Automobile accident in 2008 my teeth have been on the decline. My face hit the windshield and knocked out three teeth and according to my dentist, loosened the others. If I was under Thirty he said they would have grown back strong. Unfortunately I’m forty……something lol so they won’t! Therefore I have to get dentures waaaaaaay too early. Isn’t life grand? Good luck with the healing, CeeLee!! BTW~my doctor says I also need a hearing aid. I can’t blame the accident for that. Apparently my father was right when he told me I’d go deaf from listening to rock-n-roll. lol 😉 Sharing this now.

    1. We have much in common.
      So much in fact, that it took me aback. My own tooth saga started at age 14 and the beginning of my downhill slide on all things toothy. I may have laid that ghost to rest, but my teeth paid the price. Braces held my teeth in but the damage had begun and the rest- accidents, medication, motherhood-is history.
      Painful? Oh, there is no doubt. More than I could have imagined lol
      Glad it’s over, sad there were no glow in the dark options to choose from 😉
      As for my hearing…well…the fault is all my own. Long live rock-n-roll 😉

I love getting comments. It's as close to being famous as I'll ever get.

